Trailer Music: X-Men: Days of Future Past vs. Star Trek Into Darkness

A new trailer was released today for X-Men: Days of Future Past.  The first thing I noticed was that the music sounded familiar, and it only took a minute to confirm my suspicions (and boost my music-recognizing-ego); it’s totally the same song that was used for the Star Trek Into Darkness trailer.  It’s a different arrangement and the music in the second halves of the trailers diverge after both have a moment where the music stops completely for a line of significant dialogue to land by itself (“Patience isn’t my strong suit” at 1:24 for X-Men:DoFP and “You think you’re safe…you are not” at 1:04 for STID), but it’s definitely the same song.  Compare:

I like the vocals the in the STID version, but I think I have to give the edge overall to the music in X-Men:DoFP, because the last part of STID‘s music is just “BWAAAAM! BWAAAAM! BWAAAAM!”, but X-Men:DoFP‘s is a lot more musical, if admittedly generic.  What do you think–which trailer uses the music better?

I am not aware of the origin of this song of who wrote it, and I haven’t been able to find any credible information on it yet, but this doesn’t strike me as such an egregious trailer music choice as when Man of Steel used the score from Gandalf’s death scene.  Maybe this is just one of those songs that gets featured in trailers a lot.

8 Comments

Filed under movies, music, trailers

8 responses to “Trailer Music: X-Men: Days of Future Past vs. Star Trek Into Darkness

  1. descalzo

    I don’t think they are the same song. The pacing and theme is the same, but from browsing soundtracks the past half hour, this dramatic chord progression seems to be pretty popular.

    My first instinct for the X-men one was, “Sounds like the end of kick-ass.” http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=JYdp36bA-hU&list=PL18210C5750CEE784
    Great song! But it quickly gets too excited and adds a second theme. Wikipedia lists Henry Jackman and John Murphy as the composers. (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Kick-Ass:_Music_from_the_Motion_Picture)

    And then I thought, “Ah, Inception!” And indeed, Hans Zimmer employs this theme well: http://youtu.be/oeN-jDGQlpQ?t=58s
    But again, it’s not quite the same. It has more bass and a pulsing nature.

    Then I asked google and found a bunch of songs people were claiming that the trailer used. To my ear, this is a perfect match. http://youtu.be/bkWgrAG1_jE?t=45s
    I’ve never even heard of this movie, but it’s composer is John Murphy. Same guy as the Kick-Ass soundtrack! And from flipping through his repertoire on Spotify, he really seems to like this progression.

    At 1:24, as you mentioned, the music changes, though the theme is similar.
    This half of the trailer sounds like it’s courtesy of Hans Zimmer’s Thin Red Line. http://youtu.be/TG9-j3eevL4?t=4m24s

    Not sure at the moment where the last few seconds of piano music in the X-men trailer are from, but if I had to guess, I’d say John Murphy or Hans Zimmer.

    • if the pacing, theme, and chord progression are the same, doesn’t that count as being the same song? i think the music in the two trailers in my post sound more similar to each other than the links you posted, but i agree it appears to be a popular style/theme.

  2. Erin

    Why do they do that, do you suppose?

  3. descalzo

    And by “dramatic chord progression,” I mean Em, C, G, and D. Which describes half of the pop songs out there. But I’m not one to rage against the lack of creativity in the music industry. It sounds good.

  4. Daniel

    I do believe that it’s the song “Battle Los Angeles Hymn” by Brian Tyler… It’s the first song on the Soundtrack CD for Battle Los Angeles. :)

    Ultradan

  5. Adam

    The first song used in the trailer is this: “Adagio in D-Minor” – John Murphy, 2012 REMASTERED
    The second song is this: “Journey to the Line” – Hanz Zimmer, THE THIN RED LINE
    and the final song: I believe it is “Time” – Hanz Zimmer, INCEPTION….but that is the one I am having the most difficulty with

  6. I like the vocals, too; they seem to add more atmosphere to the Into Darkness trailer (I’d seen both before, so, to compare, I listened to the trailers instead of watching them). There’s possibly more tension and excitement in the ID one. However, both take the music so differently that I don’t have a favourite overall.

  7. Hyonin

    The song in the DoFP trailer is actually from The movie Sunshine’s original sound track. Titled: Sunshine (Adagio in D minor) by John Murphy I don’t believe it is the same song as in STitD

Leave a Reply

