‘Divergent’ fan art

yesterday veronica roth tweeted a link to this picture that a fan drew of Tris, and said “i’m a big fan of the birds.”

fan art by ~le-dove, see original post at this link: http://le-dove.deviantart.com/#/d47kc6o

i like it, too.  that’s pretty much how i pictured the raven tattoos except i thought they were in more of a diagonal line.  i like that she isn’t conventional pretty/gorgeous but she’s not ugly, either.  kind of awkward but not hideous.  in the book (Divergent) Tris says that she isn’t pretty, but when i was reading it i thought it was kind of hard to tell if she was actually unattractive or if she just had poor self-esteem and was comparing herself to supermodels or something.  in the exchange below, it seemed like Four was agreeing that she wasn’t pretty but again i couldn’t tell if she really wasn’t or if he was just going along with whatever she said, rolling his eyes, emphasizing that he’s attracted to other qualities about her.  (this is from page 337-338 of the hardcover version, or the very last pages of chapter 26 if you’ve got a different edition.)

“I’m not trying to be self-deprecating,” I say. “I just don’t get it.  I’m younger. I’m not pretty. I–”

He laughs, a deep laugh that sounds like it came from deep inside him, and touches his lips to my temple.

“Don’t pretend,” I say breathily.  “You know I’m not.  I’m not ugly, but I am certainly not pretty.”

“Fine.  You’re not pretty.  So?”  He kisses my cheek.  “I like how you look.  You’re deadly smart.  You’re brave.  And even though you found out about Marcus…”  His voice softens.  “You aren’t giving me that look.  Like I’m a kicked puppy or something.”

but veronica (roth, the author) has said “Tris is supposed to be plain, she really is.”  so, there you go.

i’m a big fan of the birds, too. i can’t wait for the promotional merchandise for the movie comes out and i can get a temporary row of raven tattoos.  and faction symbols on my arms.  oh, i love this series!

and by the way, although i would love to pretend she’s holding hands with Four in this picture, it’s got to be Christina, because she’s wearing the black dress that her fellow Dauntless newb helps pick out for her.  right?

Leave a comment

Filed under Books

Leave a Reply

