pageladys Does NaNoWriMo 2012

I have decided to participate in this year’s NaNoWriMo, which starts tomorrow.  I have several story ideas, two of which I have been kicking around and fleshing out for a couple of years, and it’s time I get serious about sitting down and writing one of them.  Since I’ll be struggling to get over 1500 words typed each day on top of my full-time job and, you know, life, I won’t be able to blog during November.   I know sometimes I go for a spell without any new posts anyway, but I wanted to preemptively announce that this time it’s because I’m being productive!  Hopefully.  Also, by putting my intentions out there publicly, it adds some external pressure and accountability for me to stick with it and meet my goal.

I don’t want to give away too many details about the story I will be writing, (what if somebody steals my ideas!), but it is fantasy/sci-fi and takes place on another planet which is inhabited by three types of physiologically distinct sentient beings.  It explores themes of cultural division and unity, and of seeking spiritual truth in a world with no scriptures and competing oral traditions.

I *might* still blog some new posts in November, especially the one on the British slang in The Casual Vacancy that I have nearly finished.  But blogging will take a lower priority over novel-writing for the next 30 days!  I will definitely be tweeting NaNoWriMo updates throughout the month as well if you want to keep up with my progress.

8 Comments

Filed under blog

8 responses to “pageladys Does NaNoWriMo 2012

  1. Great post! Good luck! I’m doing NaNoWriMo too! You can see my progress today on this blog post:

    http://wp.me/p2EVWK-8c

    Great blog you’ve got here! I’ll be sure to follow!

  2. I am hosting a book club in a few days and wanted to play a game of British slang meanings. I am having a hard time because I listened to the book, so can’t flip through a book to find the slang. When do you think you will be posting the Casual Vacancy British slang list?
    Thanks!

Leave a Reply

