party-planning Beauty and the Beast again (for kids)

Today I hosted a Beauty and the Beast party for some girls aged 3-6. I reused my Beast peanut butter rice crispy treats from the live-action movie premiere, but with a new option of some that were made from cocoa cheerios as one of my guests is allergic to gluten. (I had thought that rice crispies were gluten-free, but apparently only certain brands are since most have a gluten malt flavoring?? So that was a bit of a scramble for me at the last minute but it turned out fine).

IMG_4843

i left off the Bugles on the gluten-free ones and just made horns out of frosting

Of course, we also had Belle cupcakes; I got the toppers from Etsy, there are several printable varieties or you can buy some ready-made. We had punch too, make with pineapple juice, Sprite, and Rainbow Sherbet, but I forgot to get a picture of it and anyway only half of the kids liked it. (The rest opted for kool-aid.)

IMG_4842

the light-colored cupcakes were gluten-free lemoncakes from a local bakery

My personal favorite part was the enchanted rose craft. I glued small blocks of glitter-painted foam to the center of the plates and cut down the fake roses so they would fit before hand, so the kids’ role was mainly painting glitter on whatever parts they wanted, including the rose petals. The ‘glass’ covers to go over the rose are the top parts of plastic wine glasses. You just have to make sure to find a style that detaches at the base of the bowl rather than between the foot and stem. I found these at Dillons.

IMG_4934

We also paused mid-way through the movie (which turned out to be necessary anyway for calming down, bathroom breaks, a bit and re-focusing) to make magic mirrors. Again, I did a lot of prep work beforehand, cutting them out of cardboard, hot-gluing embellishments, spray-painting them gold and cutting out pieces of reflective stickers out (which I got on Amazon, it was supposed to be a “chrome car decal” but I found it by searching “mirror sticker”). The kids’ part was gem stickers. I felt kind of bad that I made a lot of creative choices for them, but it turned out to be just the right amount of not-too-complicated busywork during the break and they all seemed happy with their various mirror shapes.

IMG_4935

We watched the live-action version, but we did take the aforementioned break mid-way through (after “Be Our Guest”) and if you are thinking of replicating this party with very young children you might consider watching the animated version instead, since it is forty minutes shorter.  Our little audience wasn’t the most attentive for the whole duration of the film, but there were a lot of moments that had them spellbound and more than one twirling dance party that broke out during the songs, and I will cherish the memory of my couch full of little girls in Belle dresses (plus one Cinderella dress) clutching their popcorn bags and giggling at the screen.

10/10 would throw this party again.

IMG_4936

Leave a comment

Filed under Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

