Guessing Where The First Hobbit Film Will End

When Peter Jackson announced that The Hobbit film adaptation would span not two, but three films, I wasn’t sure about the idea.  But the new trailer today for part 1, also known as The Hobbit: An Unexpected Journey, has erased all doubts from my mind.  How could I possibly not be excited after watching such an exciting preview?

My favorite thing about the previous trailer was the music, but this one does not feature the “Misty Mountains” song and the accompanying music is barely noticeable.  There are plenty of other things to love about this one, though!

picture of map

I don’t see any moon-letters on this map, but I see empty spaces where they might show up under the right moon!

This one tells us more about the story, (which of course we already know, from the book)–an uninitiated audience could glean from this trailer that the dwarves + Bilbo are going on a long journey, to “determined to reclaim their home land,” and that Bilbo is part of their group at Gandalf’s suggestion/insistence.  We see Elrond advise Thorin that “some might not deem it wise” to go through with his plan to “enter the mountain”.  We see Bilbo and Gollum setting up the game of riddles!   We see the band of adventurers facing trolls, goblins, wolves, and stone giants!  I love it all.

I love Bilbo running down a path in the Shire with his great big hobbit feet flapping around, shouting, “I’m going on an adventure!”

screenshot of bilbo running

Though not a line from the book, I absolutely love the inclusion of Gandalf talking about the inspiration he gets from the steadfast little hobbit.  It reminds me of a quote that is in the book The Hobbit, that demonstrates the title character’s extraordinary yet simplistic courage and strength.

“Go back?” he thought. “No good at all! Go sideways? Impossible! Go forward? Only thing to do! On we go!” So up he got, and trotted along with his little sword held in front of him and one hand feeling the wall, and his heart all of a patter and a pitter.

pic of gandalf and galadriel

“Why Bilbo Baggins? Perhaps it is because I’m afraid, and he gives me courage.”

I love Bilbo’s elven-made sword, Sting, glowing blue to warn of the presence of a goblin.

pic of bilbo with glowing sword fighting goblin

I love Bilbo propositioning Gollum with “a game of riddles?”   Every time I see that part, (in the dozens of times I have watched this trailer so far today), I want to shout out “what have I got in my pocket?!”

pic of wide-eyed gollum

“If Baggins loses, we eats it whole.”

But as for guessing at what point in the story the first film will conclude, I think it must not be very long after the group takes refuge in treetops to get away from the wolves.  In the book, Gandalf nearly succeeds in scaring the wolves away with fire, but then the goblins arrive seeking vengeance, (because the dwarves not only escaped from their caves but killed the goblin king), and set the trees on fire.   The heroes escape at the last second with help from the eagles.  Well, I don’t see any eagles in the trailer, but I don’t know if they would show them if they’re going to swoop in at the very end.   You’d want to keep that a surprise for anyone who hasn’t read the book, so they’re genuinely scared for the dwarves, hobbit and wizard, right?

Although I’m sure they’ll want to end on a bit of a cliffhanger, it doesn’t seem like the movie will end with the adventurers in mortal peril atop burning trees.  And, the book describes Biblo’s transit via eagle as quite dangerous and exciting itself.   I think a good ending for the first film would be for the eagles to swoop in and fly them out of there, and when they land on the eyrie for something like this exchange from the book to happen:

[Bilbo] found himself saying aloud: “Now I know what a piece of bacon feels like when it is suddenly picked out of the pan on a fork and put back on the shelf!”

“No you don’t!” he heard Dori answering, “because the bacon knows that it will get back in the pan sooner or later; and it is to be hoped we shan’t.  Also eagles aren’t forks!”

In any case, we see Thorin in a treetop, (and I like this “hero shot” much better than the one of him in the first trailer, where he’s on horseback and the sunlight is sort of anointing him), and we see Gandalf in a treetop where the tree is actually on fire.  So I *think* that image of Gandalf in the burning tree is the clip closest to the end of this movie that we see in the trailer.

pic of thorin in a treetop

“I will take each and every one of these dwarves over the mightiest army. Loyalty, honor, a willing heart–I can ask no more than that.”

gandalf in a tree on fire

This picture is the very essence of “fantasy” to me. A wizard! With a great big pointy hat, a beard, and a staff! In a tree, which is on fire, against a stormy sky!

If that is indeed where the first film ends, it means that An Unexpected Journey will cover the first six chapters of the book.  That is just about perfect, considering there are 19 chapters; each film should cover 6 chapters and one will cover 7, or else two will cover 6 and a half.  Also, towards the beginning of the next film the dwarves will have a natural opportunity to reacquaint the audience with their names, when they introduce themselves two at a time to Beorn, so that seems like another good reason for this choice for the split.

What do you think?  Is my theory about the end of part 1 right, or do you think the cut will be somewhere else?  Oh, and how great is that last voice-over line from Gandalf, “Home is now behind you, the world is ahead,”?!  Fantastic.  I’m definitely excited.  Is it December yet?!

*update* Ooh, how fun, four alternative endings to the trailer!  I think I like the first one, with the contract, best.

15 Comments

Filed under Books, movies, trailers

15 responses to “Guessing Where The First Hobbit Film Will End

  1. Pam G

    Wow, I’m excited about this movie now too! I can’t contribute much to the discussion of where the movies should split the book since I don’t read books…much. Thanks for the review.

  2. wait, there IS an eagle in this trailer! it swoops behind Gandalf while he’s in the burning treetop! i didn’t notice it until i saw a gif someone put on tumblr that was a bit slowed down.

  3. descalzo

    Yeah, the make-your-own wallpaper site has been updated, removing bilbo in mirkwood, the party crossing a bridge, and riding in barrels
    http://apps.warnerbros.com/thehobbit/wallpapergenerator/

    • i was wondering about that! thanks, i don’t know if i would have remembered everything in the original options. the wallpaper i made a while back had bag end, the trolls, dwarves walking up a mountain and rivendell, so it still works. 🙂

  4. you know, i think the music is original and i do like it, but it sounds a lot like the soundtrack to “The Chronicles of Narnia” for a bit starting at the 1:11 mark, doesn’t it?

  5. I was excited enough seeing the trailer, but these clips? I actually did a little scream of excitement and shouted “I CAN’T WAIT!” in an embarrassingly shrill voice. BUT I CAN’T! We wants to see it, preciousss, we wantss it!

  6. Pingback: Re-Playing The Hobbit | pagelady

  7. Pingback: Trailer Tuesday 9.25.12 | Digest Movies

  8. Myles

    i think it might end at the beginning of chapter 9
    beorn is credited so atleast till then…

    • Is he credited according to imdb.com, or some other source? imdb is not reliable since it can be user-edited…or, they may have intended to include him in part 1 when it was only going to be a two-part saga.

  9. Pingback: NaNoWriMo Fail, Midnight Hobbit Showing Win? | pagelady

  10. If you read unexcpect journey in wikipedia http://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/The_Hobbit:_An_Unexpected_Journey
    That is stated in last sentence of plot sinopsis “As they continue eastward, the travellers eventually reach Mirkwood, the realm of the Silvan Elves.”. Maybe the final scene would be ehen the say farewell to beorn or when they enter mirkwood and say farewell to gandalf

  11. By now you know… this is a great movie AND you got it right. It ended quickly after the eagle rescue.

  12. Pingback: Only Six Months Until “The Hobbit: The Desolation of Smaug”! | pagelady

Leave a comment